Women in Surfing Chronology

from Gabbard, A. (2000) Girl in the Curl: A Century of Women in Surfing

— - 1700s: Polynesians and Hawaiians enjoy surfing as part of their culture.

Late 1700s: Infectious diseases spread by Captain Cook's men nearly decimates native Hawaiian population.

1800s: Puritanical missionaries declare surfing a heathen pastime: sport nearly dies out.

1900: Visiting businessmen and journalists witness Duke Kahanamoku, brothers and friends surfing Waikiki; sport begins to enjoy resurrection.

1907: Hawaiian George Freeth introduces surfing to Southern California.

1912: Kahanamoku wins Olympic Gold Medal in swimming; becomes Hawaii's unofficial swimming and surfing ambassador.

1915: Kahanamoku introduces surfing to Australia; teaches 15-year-old Isobel Letham to surf.

1920s: Hawaii becomes popular cruise and vacation destination; Waikiki beach boys teach tourists to surf and paddle outrigger canoes.

1931: Pete Peterson and Lorrin Harrison discover tandem surfing in Hawaii and bring it home to Califo rn ia.

1930s and 1940s: Ethel Harrison learns to surf in California, moves to Hawaii and marries Hawaiian surfer Joe Kukea; Mary Ann (Hawkins) Morrissey rides her redwood board at Pacific Palisades and San Onofre.

1940s and 1 950s: Servicemen and women stationed in Hawaii discover surfing; Keanuinui Rochien distinguishes herself as one of Hawaii's finest paddlers and surfers; Makaha and Waikiki become prime surfing areas.

Late 1940s, early 1950s: Malibu, California becomes a popular surfing spot; Robin Grigg, Aggie Bane, Vicki Flaxman, Claire Cassidy, Darilyn Zanuck Zinc, Marge Gleason, Patty O'Keefe, Barbara Peterson and Diane Griffith make up the distaff side of the surfing community.

1950: Joe Quigg introduces a shorter, lighter, maneuverable balsawood "Girl Board" to the women of Malibu who, in turn, change the way waves are ridden.

1952: Makaha International Surfing Championship founded by Wally Froiseth and Waikiki Surf Club.

1954: Ethel Kukea wins women's division of Makaha International Surfing Championship (repeats the win in 1955); Walter Hoffman and Joan Jones win first tandem division trophy in 1954.

Mid-i 950s: The waves of Oahu's North Shore are finally ridden and the area quickly becomes surfing's Mecca; Marge Calhoun learns to surf at Malibu.

1956: Gidget goes to Malibu; her father's book, *Gidget*, is published in 1957.

1958: Marge Calhoun wins Makaha International Surfing Championship at age thirty-something; surfs the North Shore with Eve Fletcher.

1959: The first U.S. Championships is held in Huntington Beach and is won by 15-year-old Linda Benson, who also wins Makaha International Surfing Championship; the movie, *Gidget*, is released; Linda Merrill wins her first contest.

Early 1960s: Awave of beach party movies provides stunt work for many surfers and also attracts inland America to the beach.

1960: Joyce Hoffman starts surfing, wins the Makaha International in 1964 and five world titles between 1966 and 1971.

1963: Linda Merrill and Mike Doyle win the Makaha International tandem event; Shelley Merrick wins her first contest at Dockweiler Beach at age seventeen.

1964: Australian Phyllis O'Donnell captures first world amateur championship.

1965: Mimi Munro wins East Coast Championship at age thirteen in Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina; she repeats her wins in 1966 and 1967.

1966: Barrie (Algaw) Boehne and Pete Peterson win fourteen tandem events in a row, including the U.S. Championships, the Makaha International and the World Contest in San Diego; Margo (Godfrey) Oberg is ranked fourth in the world at age thirteen.

1967 to present: Barrie and Steve Boehne become tandem partners and take the sport to a new level; they also marry and open a surf shop.

1968 Margo (Godfrey) Oberg wins her first of numerous world titles at age fifteen, marking the start of a pro career that spans three decades; the shortboard is introduced and changes the face of surfing. 1972: Mary Setterholm wins U.S. Championships in Huntington Beach.

1974: ReIl Sunn starts annual Menehune Contest at Makaha.

1975: Women s International Surfing Association (WISA) formed by Mary Setterhoim, Jericho Poppler and Mary Lou (McGinnis) Drummy; first WISA contest held at Malibu; Wendy Gluey turns pro.

1976. International Professional Surfing (IFS), an organization formed by Fred Hemmings, incorporates a women s tour.

1977: Margo Oberg opens her surfing school on Kauai.

1978: Lynn Boyer wins first of two consecutive world titles.

1879: Women s Pro Surfing (WPS) formed by pro women Jericho Poppler, Rell Sunn, Lynne Boyer, Margo Oberg, Cherie Gross, Linda Davoli, Debbie Beacham, Becky Benson and Brenda Scott.

1982. Seventeen-year-old Floridian Frieda Zamba wins the Mazda Surfsports Pro in Solana Beach, California, and begins her ten-year dominance over women s surfing; Pam Burridge turns pro at age sixteen and becomes Australia s first professional surfer; Debbie Beacham wins world title.

1983. Kim Mearig wins world title: newly formed Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) takes over men and womens pro circuit; Debbie Beacham serves on the ASP board until 1991.

1984: Frieda Zamba wins the first of four world titles; Australian Jodie Cooper turns pro; Surfrider Foundation founded to preserve the ocean environment.

1986: Lisa Andersen turns pro at age seventeen.

1987: Wendy Botha wins the first of four world titles.

1990: Pam Burridge wins world title; Rochelle Ballard turns pro.

1991: Last WISA-sponsored contest held.

1992: Margo Oberg surfs her last pro contest: Jericho Poppler starts Jericho s Kids for Clean Waves contest and outreach program.

1993 Pauline Menczer wins world title.

1994: Lisa Andersen wins the first of four consecutive world titles.

1995: Water Girl, first all-woman s surf shop, opened in

Encinitas, California; Wahine, first allwomens surf magazine, launched.

1996 LisaAndersen is featured on the cover of Surfer with the caption. 'Lisa Andersen surfs better than you"; Isabelle Izzy Tihanyi opens Surf Diva, first all-women s surf school in La Jolla, California.

1997: East Coast Wahine Championships debuts in Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina; Las Olas surf camp for women founded near Puerto Vallarta by Bev Sanders.

1998: In January, Rell Sunn, beloved "Queen of Makaha, succumbs to cancer; Layne Beachley wins the first of two consecutive world titles.

1999. Australian Trudy Todd wins the women s Triple Crown title in Hawaii.

2000: Women's surfing enters a new era.